Project leadership

Primary Investigators

Nancy Shackelford

Global Arid Zone Project (GAZP) Coordinator | Restoration of Natural Systems Director & Assistant Professor, University of Victoria

Katharine Suding

Professor, Colorado University at Boulder

Gustavo Paterno


Kelly Garvy

Regional Coordinators

If you are in a region not represented below, we are looking for a regional coordinator! Please reach out if you have suggestions.
United States

Daniel Winkler

Research Ecologist, United States Geological Survey
United States

Akasha Faist

Assistant Professor, New Mexico State University
Australia & Middle East

Todd Erickson

Project Manager, Faculty of Science, University of Western Australia
Africa

Kirsty Shaw

Head of Ecological Restoration and Tree Conservation, Botanic Gardens Conservation International
europe

Luis Merino Martín

Postdoctoral Research Fellow, CNRS, CEFE & INRA, AMAP, Montpellier, France

Gustavo Paterno


Kelly Garvy

Steering Committee

GAZP only works because of the amazing effort put in by our leadership team. The Steering Committee crosses regions, ecosystems, and expertise. All committee members are happy to be contacted with questions or suggestions.


Todd E. Erickson, University of Western Australia (todd.erickson@dbca.wa.gov.au)

Daniel Winkler, United States Geologic Survey (dwinkler@usgs.gov)

Gustavo Paterno, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte (paternogbc@gmail.com)

Martin Breed, Flinders University (martin.breed@flinders.edu.au)

Peter Harrison, University of Tasmania (p.a.harrison@utas.edu.au)

Akasha Faist, New Mexico University (afaist@nmsu.edu)

Luis Merino Martin, CNRS, CEFE & INRA, AMAP (luismerinomartin@gmail.com)

John Bradford, United States Geologic Survey (jbradford@usgs.gov)

Kirsty Shaw, Botanic Gardens Conservation International (kirsty.shaw@bgci.org)